Windows Bag: A few of my favourite things…

Do you ever get obsessed and COLLECT?  Last year it was text fabric. Then I had a brief flirtation with ‘place’ fabric (particularly maps). Lately, it’s been shot cotton, for which I blame Lynne of Lily’s Quilts. My latest love has been sewing plastic, and I have a feeling a whole lot of zips may be arriving at my place soon…. And let’s not forget my love of all things Spanish. Well, Kate Spanish at least…

So may I present to you my latest creation, the Windows Bag, which incorporates a few of my favourite things:

  • Turquoise blue shot cotton. 
  • Mettler polyester thread, 
  • Free motion stippled loops
  • Clear plastic windows (hence the name) onto Kate Spain fabrics (Good Fortune scraps).

It’s lined with Kate Spain’s Terrain, and my neighbour showed me an easy way to put in a zippered double pocket. So easy I couldn’t believe it!  She also convinced me to go with a feature zip. I always hide my zips and stick with as neutral shades as possible. This one is orange. I love it.

I’m so happy with this bag. It’s original – I think. I haven’t seen the plastic windows anywhere around, but I’m sure someone will find some! I think I’m going to make another one and maybe do a tutorial or even put the pattern in my little etsy shop to support my fabric habit. 🙂

I’m so glad to have this done and blogged. Apart from my Friday finishes, and my shared Sewing Summit (Alternate) Sunday posts, I haven’t been posting much. Life gets BUSY and sewing machines break. Being Winter down under (see, there is a cloud in the sky!), by the time I get home from work it’s too dark for decent photos. So this weekend with my sewing machine back and a bit of sun, I studiously ignored the housework and tackled a few things. More to come!!!

Leave a comment