A design wall with a little magic…

I’ve been after  design wall for a while. I’ve been eyeing up OhFransson’s design wall, but as we don’t have easy and cheap access to insulboard here, the backboard material has had me stumped. And as I told Danny, our walls are not made of cardboard, so brick and plaster don’t make the easiest hanging space for a girl who has never learnt to use a drill.


Enter handyman, stage right.

I dragged HRH (Her Royal Handyman) to Bunnings (local hardware megastore) – and by dragged, imagine the general amount of dragging it takes to get a man to a hardware store, the football, or liquorland – and the engineering mind clicked into action. Before I knew it, we had 3 pieces of MDF, some heavy duty ‘fabric’ tape (it’s used to hold bumpers on cars so is pretty strong), a piece of wood and a little hanger thingy.  I had already bought 3m of white felt in a Spotlight sale, so all up, about $36. 

I zigzagged the two pieces of felt together, taped the boards together, with a slight gap so they fold, and hunted for a staple gun without success, so out came the Bear tape again.

Then, much as I’m a liberated woman, I don’t understand the drill thing. So it was over to HRH who made a bit of noise, used about 27 drill bits (from what I could see) and baffled me with man-magic. Next thing I knew, this was on the wall:

Hurrah!! I have a design wall! It can be taken down, folded up and put away. Ha, like that’s going to happen! The blocks are the first two (and a half that I started) for my QCA month. It’s going to be GREAT! 
Don’t forget to comment on yesterday’s post for a chance of winning a pattern from Echinops and Aster, and tomorrow for another special birthday week giveaway!

Leave a comment